Join us
October 2nd
Washington, D.C.

Marconi Symposium
and Awards


  • The Leading Scientists in Communications and the Internet

    The Marconi Society supports achievements which contributed significantly to human progress.

  • Marconi Fellows

    Fellows are recognized for their lasting scientific contributions to human progress in the field of communications science and the Internet. More...

  • Paul Baran
    Young Scholars

    Learn about the Marconi Society Young Scholar program past winners. More...

Vint Cerf 8/25 webinar
Internet 2025: Can we keep it open and evolving Details

October 2nd, Washington D.C.

Marconi Symposium and Awards,
honoring Arogyaswami Paulraj,
2014 Marconi Fellow

Symposium - Internet 2025 
National Academies of Engineering and Science Building. Advance registration required.

Speakers will include Bob Lucky, Marty Cooper, Vint Cerf, Len Kleinrock, Bob Kahn, John Cioffi, Joseph Kakande, Dan Kaufman, Helmut Bölcskei, Dennis Roberson, Janice Obuchowski, Joan Marsh, David Goldman, Tom Marzetta and FCC Commissioner Jessica Rosenworcel.

Awards Dinner - 6:00 p.m. cocktails, 7:00 p.m. dinner: Honoring Arogyaswami Paulraj and the 2014 Paul Baran Young Scholars.

For the Awards Dinner:

Marconi Fellows, Board Members, Young Scholars, and Symposium Speakers register here. 

All other Awards Dinner guests register here.

July 16 Bob Lucky, Joseph Kakande & Chris DiBona Creating Centers of Excellence. The Fourth Marconi Expertise Webinar

How can we create great centers for productive research? Experts share their experiences.

Marconi Fellow Bob Lucky led major research efforts at Bell Labs, many in communications and two that led to Nobel Prizes. His discovery of the adaptive equalizer in 1964 quadrupled the speed of modems. Chris DiBona is an internationally known advocate of open source software and Director of Open Source at Google. The Open Source community has developed the most important tools for the Internet and today’s major data centers.



Congratulations to our 2014 Marconi Prize Winner Arogyaswami Paulraj, who has received a Lifetime Achievement Award by prestigious India Abroad. An interesting profile here

Stanford Professor A.J. Paulraj Wins the 2014 Marconi Prize

Honored for his pioneering contributions to developing the theory and applications of MIMO antennas

Palo Alto, CA, January 21, 2014—Professor (Emeritus) Arogyaswami Joseph Paulraj, Stanford University, has been awarded the prestigious 2014 Marconi Society Prize. His idea for using multiple antennas at both the transmitting and receiving stations - which is at the heart of the current high speed WiFi and 4G mobile systems – has revolutionized high speed wireless delivery of multimedia services for billions of people. More…

James Lee Massey (1934-2013)

James MasseyJames Lee Massey, the 1999 Marconi Fellow honored for his significant advances in cryptography and related coding problems as well as his teaching and mentoring of a generation of scientists and technologists, died June 16th, 2013, in Copenhagen. More…

2013 Marconi Prize Goes To Cellphone Pioneer
Martin Cooper

Martin CooperForty years to the day after he helped launch the age of portable mobile telecommunications, the Marconi Society has announced that Martin Cooper is the recipient of the 2013 Marconi Prize, considered the pinnacle honor in the field of communication and information science. More…

Related article…

Complete Details…

Upcoming Programs

5G, MIMO and Remarkable Wireless Advances

Thursday March 6 Details

Register here (no charge)

Featuring MIMO pioneer Arogyaswami Paulraj, Broadcom Founder Henry Samueli and Stanford Professor Andrea Goldsmith.

More Program Information…

In the News

Will 2014 Be the Year That the Internet is Reined In?

That’s the topic of John Markoff’s edited interviews with Marconi Fellows Vint Cerf and Bob Kahn in the New York Times. Read More…

David Payne wins James Clerk Maxwell Award

Marconi Chairman was honored for "ground-breaking contributions to optical fibre technologies" by IEEE and RSE.. Read more…

Zvi GalilHigher Education Revolution

Marconi Board member Zvi Galil, Dean of the College of Computing at the Georgia Institute of Technology, is helping lead a higher education revolution through the institution’s plans to make a master’s degree in computer science available through massive open online courses for a fraction of the on-campus cost, a first for an elite institution. Read more…

Call for Nominations for 2015 Marconi Prize

The Marconi Society invites nominations for the Marconi Prize of individuals worldwide who have made pioneering contributions to communications technology that have benefited humanity, thus perpetuating the spirit and work of Guglielmo Marconi. The Marconi Society welcomes nominations from learned societies and academies of all countries, as well as from individuals in universities, industry and public life. The deadline for submission is June 30, 2014. Details…

More Information…