About the Marconi Society

The Marconi Society honors the spirit of Guglielmo Marconi — scientist, engineer, inventor, and entrepreneur. The $100,000 Marconi Prize, awarded annually, recognizes living scientists whose achievements in communications and information technology have advanced the social, economic and cultural development of all humanity.

The Society also recognizes and encourages young scientists through its Paul Baran Young Scholar Awards. The Society’s activities promote awareness of major innovations in communication theory, technology and applications with particular attention to understanding how they change and benefit society.

Left – right: Eric Ash, Federico Faggin, Robert Kahn, Vint Cerf, Peter Kirstein, John Cioffi, David Payne, Andrew Chraplyvy, Robert Tkach, and Arogyaswami Paulraj.