Entries by Hatti Hamlin

,

Giovanni Corazza on Thinking Out of the Box

Marconi Society Board Member and University of Bologna Professor Giovanni Corazza recently asked a TEDxROMA audience, “”How do we assess the value of a new idea? If it’s really new, nobody has ever seen it before. It is as if we had landed on a new planet, totally unexplored territory.” As Vint Cerf, Marconi Vice-Chairman […]

Webinar: Paulraj, Samueli & Goldsmith on the Remarkable Wireless Future

Remarkable Wireless Future: More Megabits Soon, Gigabits to Come”, will be the second “Marconi Expertise” webinar. The webinar takes place March 6, 10 a.m. Pacific, 1 p.m. New York, 6 p.m. London. No charge to register MIMO inventor A.J. Paulraj, Stanford Professor and entrepreneur Andrea Goldsmith & Broadcom co-founder Henry Samueli will explain technology that […]

,

David Payne wins James Clerk Maxwell Award, John Cioffi goes consumer with Cloudcheck, Bob Metcalfe goes back to the valley with Austin startups.

Sir David Payne, 2008 Fellow, was awarded the 2014 James Clerk Maxwell Award “for ground-breaking contributions to optical fiber technologies and their application to optical communications.” His erbium-doped fiber amplifiers are crucial to today’s networks. Bob Metcalfe, 2003 Fellow, brought nine University of Texas startups to pitch at a special event in Menlo Park February […]

Stanford Professor A.J. Paulraj Wins the 2014 Marconi Prize

Honored for his pioneering contributions to developing the theory and applications of MIMO antennas Palo Alto, CA, January 21, 2014—Professor (Emeritus) Arogyaswami Joseph Paulraj, Stanford University, has been awarded the prestigious 2014 Marconi Society Prize. His idea for using multiple antennas at both the transmitting and receiving stations – which is at the heart of […]