Marconi Society Blog

John Cijoffi
,

John Cioffi elected to Internet Hall of Fame + 10 gigabit 8x8 MIMO WiFi

2006 Marconi Fellow John Cioffi was inducted into the Internet Hall of Fame April 8. The Internet Society writes, "Dr. Cioffi is best known as “the father of DSL.” It was his research that made the digital subscriber line (DSL) practical,…
Giovanni Corazza
,

Giovanni Corazza on Thinking Out of the Box

Marconi Society Board Member and University of Bologna Professor Giovanni Corazza recently asked a TEDxROMA audience, “"How do we assess the value of a new idea? If it's really new, nobody has ever seen it before. It is as if we had landed…
Giovanni Corazza

Webinar: Paulraj, Samueli & Goldsmith on the Remarkable Wireless Future

Remarkable Wireless Future: More Megabits Soon, Gigabits to Come", will be the second "Marconi Expertise" webinar. The webinar takes place March 6, 10 a.m. Pacific, 1 p.m. New York, 6 p.m. London. No charge to register MIMO inventor A.J.…
Giovanni Corazza
,

Samueli: You Couldn't Start a Company Like Broadcom Today; Ash: Time to Start Burying Carbon Dioxide

2012 Marconi Fellow Henry Samueli was a UCLA professor when he and Henry Nicholas started Broadcom in 1991. Times have changed. "I don’t think you could start a company like Broadcom today. I think the industry has matured to a point that…
Giovanni Corazza
,

David Payne wins James Clerk Maxwell Award, John Cioffi goes consumer with Cloudcheck, Bob Metcalfe goes back to the valley with Austin startups.

Sir David Payne, 2008 Fellow, was awarded the 2014 James Clerk Maxwell Award "for ground-breaking contributions to optical fiber technologies and their application to optical communications." His erbium-doped fiber amplifiers are crucial to…