Fellows Application

The Marconi Prize is awarded annually to individuals who have made a significant contribution to the advancement of communications for the benefit of mankind through scientific or technological discoveries or innovations. Recipients of the Marconi Prize are designated Marconi Fellows and are expected to pursue further creative work that will add to the understanding and development of communications technology. The Marconi Prize includes an honorarium and a work of sculpture.

Nominations for the Marconi Prize

The Marconi Society invites nominations for the Marconi Prize of individuals worldwide who have made pioneering contributions to communications technology that have benefited humanity, thus perpetuating the spirit and work of Guglielmo Marconi. The Marconi Society welcomes nominations from learned societies and academies of all countries, as well as from individuals in universities, industry and public life.

The Marconi Society's Selection Advisory Committee evaluates all nominations and makes its recommendations to the Marconi Society Board of Directors, which has responsibility for the final selection of the Marconi Prize recipient. In forming its recommendations, the Selection Advisory Committee considers the scientific importance and the practical impact of the nominee's work, the nominee's entrepreneurship, humanitarianism and personal integrity, as well as the nominee's potential to contribute to the activities of the Marconi Society.

Nominations for the Marconi Prize shall include:

  • A nomination letter of no more than three pages which provides the reasons for the nomination and explains the nominee's significant contribution to communications technology as well as its benefit to humanity.
  • The nominee's curriculum vitae.
  • The nominee's publication list (including patents) together with copies of at most two of his/her major publications.
  • A list of awards and honors received by the nominee.
  • The current address and contact information for the nominee.
  • Three letters of support from recognized individuals who have substantial knowledge of the work of the nominee.

Nomination materials should be submitted by email to hattihamlin@comcast.net, and a second set emailed to info@marconisociety.org. Nominations are accepted on a rolling basis, until July 31st of each year, to be considered for the award to be given the following year (Ex. A nomination received by July 31, 2014 would be considered for the Prize to be awarded in the fall of 2015). An unsuccessful candidate for the Prize may be considered for the Prize in the following years. General inquiries and requests for further information should be sent to Executive Director, Hatti Hamlin, at hattihamlin@comcast.net.