AT&T symposium sponsor


  • The Leading Scientists in Communications and the Internet

    The Marconi Society supports achievements which contributed significantly to human progress.

  • Marconi Fellows

    Fellows are recognized for their lasting scientific contributions to human progress in the field of communications science and the Internet. More...

  • Paul Baran
    Young Scholars

    Learn about the Marconi Society Young Scholar program past winners. More...

Our blog

Rappaport: 5G will work!

Samueli Prize

Stanford Professor A.J. Paulraj Wins the 2014 Marconi Prize

Honored for his pioneering contributions to developing the theory and applications of MIMO antennas

Palo Alto, CA, January 21, 2014—Professor (Emeritus) Arogyaswami Joseph Paulraj, Stanford University, has been awarded the prestigious 2014 Marconi Society Prize. His idea for using multiple antennas at both the transmitting and receiving stations - which is at the heart of the current high speed WiFi and 4G mobile systems – has revolutionized high speed wireless delivery of multimedia services for billions of people. 

“Paul (as he is commonly known) has made profound contributions to wireless technology, and the resulting benefit to mankind is indisputable. Every wifi router and 4G phone today uses MIMO technology pioneered by him,” says Professor Sir David Payne, Chairman of the Marconi Society and Director of the Optoelectronics Research Centre at the University of Southampton. “MIMO will soon be pervasive in all wireless devices. Moreover, Paulraj’s work has provided fertile ground for thousands of researchers to explore and advance MIMO’s potential to enhance wireless spectrum efficiency.” Read more

Marconi Symposium and Awards,
honoring Arogyaswami Paulraj, 2014 Marconi Fellow

MIMO 2025: A 10x or 100x Capacity Multiplier?

Spectrum 2025: How far can sharing go?

The Future of Wireless - Jessica Rosenworcel, Commissioner, FCC

Internet 2025: Can we keep it open and evolving?

James Lee Massey (1934-2013)

James MasseyJames Lee Massey, the 1999 Marconi Fellow honored for his significant advances in cryptography and related coding problems as well as his teaching and mentoring of a generation of scientists and technologists, died June 16th, 2013, in Copenhagen. More…

2013 Marconi Prize Goes To Cellphone Pioneer
Martin Cooper

Martin CooperForty years to the day after he helped launch the age of portable mobile telecommunications, the Marconi Society has announced that Martin Cooper is the recipient of the 2013 Marconi Prize, considered the pinnacle honor in the field of communication and information science. More…

Related article…