Diffie and Hellman Win ACM Turing Award

Diffie and Hellman

By Hatti Hamlin

2000 Marconi Fellows Marty Hellman and Whit Diffie have just been awarded the 2016 Turing Award. The full text of the announcement can be found here. The award is often referred to as the “Nobel Prize for computing.” Professor Hellman said he will use his share of the monetary award to “further our efforts to create a more peaceful, sustainable world. . .” hellman 260Marconi Fellow and Stanford Professor Emeritus John Cioffi writes, “I am elated to hear that Marty has won this year’s Turing Award.

Marty’s work in public-key cryptography has changed the world in which we live. He has also been a huge encouragement to young people, and even faculty younger than him, in all that he does. We at Stanford and at Marconi can all be very proud of Marty.”

Marconi Board member Andrea Goldsmith adds, “Marty’s ground-breaking invention of public-key cryptography is most deserving of the Turing award. This invention helped to enable the connected world in which we live by making information exchange between people and devices secure. Marty is a great friend, mentor, and role model, and I am delighted to see his contributions honored in this manner.”

Vint Cerf, Marconi Vice Chairman, points out, “This is a highly appropriate recognition of seminal work by our colleagues Martin Hellman and Whitfield Diffie, both of whom have earlier been recognized by the Marconi Society. Security in cyberspace is of paramount importance and public key cryptography has a critical role to play in this vital objective.” Vint and collaborator Bob Kahn were the 2004 Turing Award winners. Marconi Fellow Ron Rivest won the Turing in 2002.

The Stanford Three

The three Stanford Marconi winners: John Cioffi on the left, Arogyaswami Paulraj in the center, and Marty Hellman. The picture was taken by Jennie Bourne for the Paulraj presentation video.

Read the full article from ACM.