Marconi Fellows Abound at the National Inventors Hall Of Fame

The Inventors Hall of Fame was founded in 1973—just a year before the Marconi Society—by the National Council of Patent Law Associations (now the National Council of Intellectual Property Law Associations) and the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Its mission is to honor the nation’s inventors and spotlight innovation.

Naturally, plenty of Marconi Fellows have been inducted, including Federico Faggin, Irwin Jacobs, Andrew Viterbi, Bob Kahn, Vint Cerf, Bob Metcalf, Paul Baran, Bob Hall, Whit Diffie and Marty Hellman. And, of course, Guglielmo Marconi.

Three Marconi Fellows attended this year’s star-studded Induction Ceremony, held at the Smithsonian.


Shown, from R to L: Federico Faggin, Bob Kahn, and Irwin Jacobs.

Irwin Jacobs 2016

Irwin Jacobs