Marconi Society Seeking 2017 Nominations

Marconi Award Nominations

Marconi Society is Seeking Nominations for Its Two Awards Programs, the 2017 Marconi Prize and the 2016 Marconi Society Paul Baran Young Scholar Awards

• Mountain View, CA •

The $100,000 Marconi Prize is awarded annually to a living scientist or scientists who have made a significant contribution in the field of information and communications science. It is considered the most prestigious award specific to the field. Marconi Fellows include an elite list of individuals whose work set the stage for modern telecommunications and the Internet, from Nobel Prize-winning physicists Arthur Schawlow and Sir Charles Kao to Internet pioneers Robert Kahn, Paul Baran, Vint Cerf and Leonard Kleinrock, World Wide Web creator Sir Tim Berners-Lee, science visionary Arthur C. Clarke, and Ethernet inventor Robert M. Metcalfe. More recent winners have included Google founders Sergey Brin and Larry Page, DSL modem inventor John Cioffi, encryption pioneers Martin Hellman, Whitfield Diffie and Ron Rivest, turbo-code inventor Claude Berrou, fiber optic pioneers Robert Tkach, David Payne and Andrew Chraplyvy and wireless luminaries Andrew Viterbi, Irwin Jacobs and Henry Samueli, among others.

Nominations for the Marconi Prize may be submitted at any time, but the deadline for consideration for the 2017 Prize (to be presented in the fall of 2017) is July 31, 2016. The Paul Baran Young Scholar Awards, which include a cash prize of $4000 plus $1000 expenses to attend the Society’s annual awards gala, recognize outstanding young scientists and engineers anywhere in the world who have demonstrated exceptional capabilities and potential. A nomination must be submitted on behalf of the candidate by a faculty or technical advisor. The deadline is July 15, 2016. To be eligible for this year’s awards, nominees must have been born in 1988 or later.

The Marconi Society was founded in 1974 by Gioia Marconi Braga to honor her father, radio inventor Guglielmo Marconi. The Marconi Prize has been awarded since 1975, to a total of 44 scientists.