Nominations now open for 2015 Young Scholar and 2016 Marconi Fellow

The deadline is June 30, 2015 for two prestigious awards. The Marconi Prize is awarded annually to individuals who have made a significant contribution to the advancement of communications for the benefit of mankind through scientific or technological discoveries or innovations. The winner receives $100,000. Young Scholar nominees for 2015 must have been born in 1987 or later in recognition of the fact that Guglielmo Marconi was age 27 when he successfully completed the first transatlantic radio signal transmission on December 12, 1901. They receive $4,000 and travel expenses to the Gala Award Ceremony held October 20 in London.

Nominate a Fellow using this link. Nominate a Young Scholar using this link. Competition is alway fierce. The first cellphone was build by Marty Cooper (2013 Fellow.) The World Wide Web was created by Sir Tim Berners-Lee (2002 Fellow.) Bob Kahn and Vint Cerf (1994 Fellows) played a crucial role in the early Internet. Len Kleinrock (1986) connected the first link of the Internet. Bob Metcalfe (2003) invented Ethernet. The whole list, with links to their achievements, is here.

Awards are given strictly on merit and nominees can be from any nation. Arogyaswami Paulraj, 2014 Fellow, was born in and spent the first half of his career in India. Executive Director Ms. Hatti Hamlin will be happy to assist you preparing the nomination.