The Marconi Prize

“Selecting a Marconi Fellow is quite difficult…because we look for someone with great ingenuity, great intelligence and great success in science. But at the same time, we’re also looking for someone who has made a tangible difference to the community and to society at large.”

— Sir Eric Ash, 1984 Marconi Fellow

The Marconi Prize is awarded annually to innovators who have made a significant contribution to increasing digital inclusivity through the advancement of information and communications technology.

In addition to significant scientific contributions that change our connected world, Marconi Prize recipients have made exemplary contributions in the following areas:

Stay Up to Date on the Marconi Prize

Practical Impact

Changing the lives of millions


Building digital inclusivity


Creating industries and companies

Marconi Fellows continue to contribute to the Marconi Society and to building our connected world by mentoring young researchers, founding companies and advising government and technical organizations around the world on policies that will bring the opportunities of digital connectivity to everyone on the planet.

Marconi Fellows are nominated and selected by their peers. The Marconi Prize includes a cash honorarium and a work of sculpture


Nominations for the 2020 Marconi Prize closed on January 31, 2020.

Marconi Prize Selection Advisory Committee

Marconi Fellows are selected by an esteemed committee of scientific innovators with diverse backgrounds, viewpoints and expertise. The Marconi Society is honored to have their perspectives.

Dr. Andrea Goldsmith

Committee Chair, Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science, Princeton University

Dr. Ghadah Aldabbagh

Associate Professor, King Abdulaziz University, Saudi Arabia
Visiting Scholar, MIT

Jussura Almeida

Dr. Jussura M. Almeida

Associate Professor, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais

Dr. Ana Garcia Armada

Professor, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid

John Cioffi

Dr. John Cioffi

CEO and Chairman, ASSIA Inc and Hitachi America Emeritus Professor, Stanford University

Martin Hellman

Dr. Martin E. Hellman

Professor Emeritus, Stanford University

Dr. Ashok Jhunjhunwala

Institute Professor, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, Chennai

Dr. Dina Katabi

Andrew and Erna Viterbi Professor, MIT

Dr. Leonard Keinrock

Distinguished Professor Emeritus, UCLA

Tom Leighton

Dr. Tom Leighton

CEO and Co-Founder, Akamai Technologies

Dr. Acha Leke

Senior Partner and Chairman Africa, McKinsey & Company

Jennifer Rexford

Dr. Jennifer Rexford

Professor, Princeton University

Dr. Hao Zou

CEO, Abundy, Inc.